Lakeland Library Cooperative



PROVIDING SERVICES TO OUR MEMBER LIBRARIES

About Us

The Lakeland Library Cooperative is organized under Michigan Public Act 89 of 1977, which provides for the establishment of cooperative libraries. Lakeland's members include 42 public libraries in 81 locations across Allegan, Barry, Ionia, Kent, Montcalm, Muskegon, Newaygo, and Ottawa counties.

The mission of Lakeland Library Cooperative is to strengthen member libraries in eight west Michigan counties by providing the means to share resources, services, and expertise for the benefit of individuals and communities. Lakeland policies are set by the membership as a whole and govern inter-cooperative activities. Individual member libraries are governed by policies set by their local boards.

The primary funding for the Cooperative is State Aid to Public Libraries including the Cooperative's 1/3-share and the member libraries' indirect 1/3-share. Yearly, before annual budgets are finalized, member libraries choose from a menu of services offered by Lakeland. Members' costs are reduced by economies of scale through group purchasing.

How Did Lakeland Library Cooperative Get Started?

In 1971 the Grand Rapids Public Library began a federally funded pilot project that offered free reference services and borrowing privileges at Grand Rapids to libraries in Kent, Ottawa, Ionia, and Montcalm counties.

When federal support ended in October 1973, a way to maintain those services, and to add others, was sought. Through a series of meetings and the drafting of a charter for a new library system, that way was found: The Lakeland Library Federation. In 1977 the Michigan Public Act 89 of 1977 established *cooperative libraries*, which is when the current governance of the Lakeland Library Cooperative replaced the Federation.

Board

A board comprised of representatives from member libraries governs the Cooperative. There are nine board members:

- Group E: Kent District Library—2 permanent members
- Group D: Grand Rapids Public Library, Herrick District Library (Holland) and Muskegon Area District Library — 1 permanent member each
- Group C: Allendale Township
 Library, Georgetown Township
 Public Library (Jenison), Hackley
 Public Library (Muskegon), Howard
 Miller Public Library (Zeeland),
 Ionia Community Library and Loutit
 District Library (Grand Haven)—1
 elected member for a two year term
- Group A and B: remaining 32 libraries—1 elected member from Group A, Group B and a third member from either A or B for two year terms each



Services

- Integrated Library System software which provides a public catalog, a patron database, and circulation of materials functions
- Cataloging of collection materials for entry into the public catalog
- Data lines for access to the Integrated Library System
- Web content filtering
- IT and wide area network VPN support
- Delivery of materials between Lakeland libraries and the statewide MeLCat delivery service called RIDES
- Continuing education
- Training and hosting of state training opportunities
- Advocacy coordination
- Liaison to state library agencies
- Group purchases of supplies
- Consulting to member libraries
- Research and development
- Mobile training lab for in-library training
- Coordinate service contracts for online periodicals, eBooks/eAudiobooks, and movie licensing

Allegan

Dorr Township Library

Fennville District Library

Henika District Library

Hopkins District Library

Leighton Township Library

Salem Township Library

Saugatuck-Douglas District Library

Barry

Freeport District Library

Hastings Public Library

Thornapple Kellogg School & Community Library

Ionia

Alvah N. Belding Memorial Library

Ionia Community Library

Lake Odessa Community Library

Saranac Public Library

Kent

Cedar Springs Public Library

Grand Rapids Public Library

Kent District Library

Sparta Carnegie Township Library

Muskegon

Fruitport District Library

Hackley Public Library

Muskegon Area District Library

White Lake Community Library

Montcalm

Carson City Public Library

Flat River Community Library

Home Township Library

Tamarack District Library

Timothy C. Hauenstein Reynolds Township Library

Newaygo

Croton Township Library

Fremont Area District Library

Grant Area District Library

Hesperia Community Library

Newaygo Area District Library

White Cloud Community Library

Ottawa

Allendale Township Library

Coopersville Area District Library

Gary Byker Memorial Library

Georgetown Township Public Library

Herrick District Library

Howard Miller Library

Loutit District Library

Patmos Library

Spring Lake District Library

